The best club teams in the country were in Kelowna, BC for the Travelers Curling Club Championship.

Men’s Championship

In the men’s event, Saskatchewan and Ontario each won their round-robin pools with perfect 6-0 records to move directly in the semi-finals.  Manitoba qualified for the semi-finals by defeating Nova Scotia 7-5 in the quarterfinals while BC defeated Manitoba 7-1.  In one semi-final, Saskatchewan scored the only deuce of the game in the 3rd end then scored the winning point in the last end for a 4-3 victory over Alberta.  In the other semi-final, Ontario scored two points in the 1st, 5th and 7th ends while holding BC to single points in the 3rd and 6th ends for a 6-2 victory.

In the Championship Final, Ontario stole two points in the 2nd and another two points in the 6th end which made the difference in their 6-3 victory over Saskatchewan.  In the bronze medal game, Alberta took an early 3-0 lead and never let BC get into the game as they won 7-1.


The winning team represented the Cataraqui Golf & Curling Club in Kingston and included Skip – Wesley Forget, Third – David Staples, Second – Graham Rathwell and Lead – Sandy Staples.

Women’s Championship

In the women’s event, Alberta with a record of 5-1 and Manitoba with a record of 4-2 won their pools and qualified directly into the semi-finals.  They were joined by Ontario which defeated Newfoundland & Labrador 6-3 in one quarterfinal while Quebec defeated Nova Scotia in the other quarterfinal by a score of 9-4.  Alberta took control of their semi-final against Ontario when they scored three points in the 5th end then stole three more points in the 6th end on their way to a 7-1 victory.  In the other semi-final, Manitoba was behind Quebec 5-4 in the 7th end when they scored two points to take a 6-5 lead then stole two points in the 8th end for an 8-5 victory.

In the Championship Final, Manitoba went into the last end down by a score of 5-4 after giving up a steal of one in the 7th end but scored four points in the 8th end for an 8-5 victory over Alberta.  In the bronze medal game, Quebec scored two points the first two times they had the hammer which helped propel them to a 6-3 victory over Ontario.


The winning team from Manitoba represented the Fort Rouge Curling Club in Winnipeg and included Skip – Tracy Andries, Third – Crystal Kennedy, Second – Diane Christensen and Lead – April Klassen.

The 2017 Travelers Curling Club Championship will be played Nov. 20-25 of next year at the Cataraqui Golf and Country Club in Kingston (ON), home club of this year’s men’s champions.


I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Stay updated on the world of curling through our Weekly Curling Report with updates, results, interviews and special features.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.
2016 Travelers Curling Club Championship Recap